This is what I’ve been focusing on over the last few weeks to support my immunity: Vegetables are the foundation of a nourishing diet, and they provide so many immune-supporting nutrients like vitamin C (red bell peppers, broccoli, and spinach) and carotenoids (carrots, sweet potatoes, and kale). Aim for two servings of fruits and eight or more servings of vegetables a day! (A serving is half a cup.) Berries, pasture-raised meats, and nuts and seeds are also nutritional powerhouses that will hold up great in the freezer, so you can stay stocked without going out. Studies have shown that refined sugars can suppress your immune system for hours after ingesting. Limiting starch and sugar will help your immune system function better, and your overall health improves. I’m also limiting caffeine and alcohol right now, too, to really protect my system. Drink herbal teas like ginger and turmeric tea. Keep a bottle of filtered water with you at all times. Avoid concentrated fruit juices and sweetened beverages, as the sugar content is harmful to the immune system. Incorporating various relaxation and breathing techniques throughout the day to help with stress and allowing the mind to rest is also very helpful! If you are able to exercise outside in less populated areas, great. If not, find workouts and yoga classes online; I’ve been making sure I do something active every day even while I’m staying home. I’m really passionate about my meditation practice, but lately even more so. I find taking a break from all the news (twice a day) and just focusing on my body and breath has been incredibly useful in helping manage stress and anxiety during this time. 

The 10 Essentials Mark Hyman  MD  Uses To Support Immune Strength - 62The 10 Essentials Mark Hyman  MD  Uses To Support Immune Strength - 59The 10 Essentials Mark Hyman  MD  Uses To Support Immune Strength - 40The 10 Essentials Mark Hyman  MD  Uses To Support Immune Strength - 24The 10 Essentials Mark Hyman  MD  Uses To Support Immune Strength - 98