But I’m also one of those people with a second stomach reserved specifically for dessert.  I also believe it is important to practice what I preach as an R.D., especially with a social media presence. If I recommend something to clients or on social media, it’s either a lifestyle habit that helps me stick to my goals or is heavily backed by scientific research. One of my biggest tips (and something I do) to staying on track with healthy eating and nutrition goals is to keep a well-stocked pantry with plenty of essentials.  While this will ultimately look a little different for everybody, here’s a list of some basics to get started: That’s why I like to keep healthier, lower- or no-sugar options in my pantry for when that craving strikes instead, while reserving those higher-sugar treats for special occasions. Here’s what satisfies my sweet tooth—without the side effects of too much sugar:

How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 65How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 90How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 12How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 15How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 17How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 28How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 25How One Sweet Toothed RDN Gave Her Pantry A Low Sugar Makeover - 98